top of page

On blogging

Blogging is one of the most bizzare acts man ever devised. Clearly, no important information will be revealed in someone's blog. By important, I mean, something that the reader couldn't already have guessed about the blogger.

Certainly, there are informational blogs that can be useful to readers. How-to blogs are fantastic. Opinion blogs, not so much. The only good opinion blogs are those that are written by someone entertaining.

Writers' blogs are a different animal altogether. I've erased at least five blogs already. I can't say I didn't enjoy writing them at the time, but looking back, they were too revealing of my insecurities. I'm published now, and therefore must not show weakness, right? And the revelations about the process I went through to complete my first novel would make a goat blow chow.

Most writers use their blog to self-promote. I'mnot sure I understand the strategy. It's unlikely that the reader hasn't already checked out the writer's work. Excerpts seem a waste given the depth that Amazon's look inside feature can take you to in a book. Chirpy little spunk can be effective, depending on the type of people an author expects to read his work, but I'm never going to attract the kind of readers who'd clap at that shit. I'm not a spunky guy. Get me drunk, and I'm a blast, but spunk grates on my nerves.

So, what sort of things to blog about? Well, if I had any interesting wishes, a yearning for a squid penis perhaps so I could frolic with eight women at the same time, that might be of interest. If I come up with any of those, I'll post them here. But, mostly, I'll probably get a hair up my ass about something, and bitch. I've been told I have a talent for bitching.

Stay tuned.

Fred


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page